Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-09-2017, 03:41 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1999
Coachwork: International/AmTran
Chassis: 3000 RE
Engine: 7.3 T444E
Rated Cap: 40 Passenger
Hello from Massachusetts

Hi everyone,

I've been reading all of your post for more than a month now, but this is my first time posting. I own and operate several recovery (sober) homes for men and women who are cleaning their lives up after being addicted to drugs and alcohol.

I found my way here because I was originally looking to purchase a shuttle type bus large enough to take everyone to various outings, but I got sidetracked when I also starting thinking about throwing some "Sober Parties" for them (they still like to party, just in a sober environment). So then I started thinking about maybe a party type bus, and I was intending on doing a bus conversion.

However, when I started reading this forum I started to hear about the cost and the time that it takes to convert a bus the way you want it. So I then started looking for busses that were already converted. Well I found a bus to my liking, but it was located in New Orleans, LA.

I hired a driver off of Craig's List and he made the 1500 mile trip from LA to MA. It took him 5 days, which included several break downs for minor things (battery terminal was loose, the fuel cap fell off, and the inverter drained the battery,etc.), but the bus arrived in one piece and now I'll start doing the renovations that I want, but it still wont be as major as a full bus conversion.