Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-03-2019, 12:17 PM   #1

Hello from NY

Hi all!

I am new to the bus game. I have been looking into getting into a ford transit van for a very long time, but financially I don't think it is going to happen any time soon. This is mostly driven by the fact that I am 6'3 and am only looking at the high roof versions so I have any chance of standing. They are tough to find and drive a premium.

I came across a bus pretty close to me. It is a 2006 E350 chassis with the 6.0 powerstroke diesel motor in it. I know a bit about these motors and will be doing more research. In general, my understanding is that the motors aren't inherently bad. They get a bad rap from poor service/maintenance and shoddy repair service. Does anyone have tips for what to look for? I have a decent list from the little power shop that I am going to follow and augment where I can. This one has 104k on it and was purchased from a school in May 2019. The FICM had low voltage and was replaced in 6/19. Batteries and tires were replaced when he bought it. I know you can dump 5k into these and bulletproof them, that certainly isn't in the budget at this point.

The bus that I am looking at is listed as a fiberglass body, is this bad or shyed away from? I have found it very difficult to find a similar bus on here.
I would think that they are better with respect to insulation than a steel bus.

Given my difficulty of finding comparable vehicles, what would you say this is worth? He is asking 9k for it, which feels a little steep to me.

Cheers!
Attached Thumbnails
bus 2.PNG  
Attached Images

tims5377 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2019, 04:03 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 98
Coachwork: 1. Corbeil & 2. Thomas
Chassis: 1 ford 1998 e350 4x4 7.3 2 mercedes 2004
Engine: 7.3 powerstroke & MBE906
4 to 5 K steep.