Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2019, 12:56 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Thumbs up Hello from San Diego

Hello everyone!

I'm new to Skoolie life but I have done Tiny Home builds in the past. My pal just bought an Ambo 4x4 and lives in it so I'm helping in that build also.

I realized that I'm paying around 18,000 in rent every year and that's just rent so why should I pay someone else?

So I'm looking for a 5-6 window Skoolie (non-cutaway) to work on and live in. I'm former Military so I have the GI Bill, which is a nice safety net for money while I build. I plan to live in it for the next year or two and if I love it, longer.

So far I know that I want a Diesel engine and to stay away from Cat and C7 Engines. I saw somewhere that I should avoid anything after 2000? (That part is iffy) and I am searching all sorts of marketplaces for a good deal.

My initial budget is somewhere around 8g for the buy and ongoing up to 15-20k for the whole build including the purchase. I've seen some buses go for as low as 1500. So, I hope I find one of those.

I'm a graphic designer and web developer by trade and I love working on Sketchup too. So I hope I can be useful around here. Thanks!

elrayes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 01:46 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Hello fellow San Diegan!

I’m getting started on my finding a short bus journey as well!
Disastrogirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-22-2019, 01:54 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15