Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-29-2015, 10:42 AM   #1

Hello from Utah!

Hi everyone! I've been lurking for a while and decided it was time to join and say hello.

I am obsessed with the idea of a Skoolie and I have been doing non stop research for quite a while now. I am aiming to buy my first bus by March. Ideally I want a 56 (?) passenger rig. I have three children from 5-10 so I need some thing with plenty of room plus my boxer and my hound dog.

I guess I can throw a few questions out there.

1-Is there any one make,model, or motor/trans combo that I should be looking for that is better/more reliable than most?

2-I like the idea of a raised roof, how much work is involved in doing this?

3-are any of you in Utah? I am in the salt lake area and it would be great to talk to someone local who has done a conversion and see what they have done.

I am a welder/fabricator/blacksmith with a lot of carpentry and cabinet making experience so I think my skill set will really help me get the job done well. I'm only really concerned about wiring, I don't get along with electricity very well.

I guess that is it for now, sorry for the long post I'm just very excited and every one I know just looks at me like I'm crazy when I talk about it.

801blacksmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-29-2015, 12:13 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
Howdy & Welcome! --- Man...it sounds like you were born to build a Skoolie given your skill sets! Best bet is to do as much reading here as possible. Especially the "Build Threads". There are so many variables that it can seem overwhelming but there are a few basics you definitely want to keep in mind while shopping.

Avoid any units that spent their life running salted roads.

Forget the paint job, begin by looking under the bus for rust, oil/fuel leaks etc.