Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-25-2015, 03:14 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Talking Hello from Vancouver Island, Canada!

My wife and I generally have some pretty crazy ideas - we lived aboard a sailboat (two actually, a 27 footer and a 33 footer) from about 2007 to 2010 - and we have recently arrived upon our newest crazy idea: to build a skoolie to use on a longish travel adventure with our two kids (who are currently 1.5 and 3.5). ...I realize of course that this idea will likely not seem crazy to any of you. :P

I'm a software developer so I can (and do) work remotely, so the plan will be for me to work over a mobile data connection while we explore North America - which I did with my family when I was 10 in a travel trailer.

I've got a buddy who turned a 14-window Thomas into a motorcycle hauler - the Zombie Response Bus - who helped inspire this a bit and will likely continue to be bombarded with questions; I think that a 14-window Thomas MVP or WestcoastER is likely what we'll end up with, though I see there doesn't seem to be much love for the Cat engines on here ... so we'll see. We're definitely all over the rear engine configuration, though. There aren't a lot of buses available in British Columbia - we just missed one a month or so ago - so I may end up trying to import one from the States, we'll see...

Anyways, this site is a fantastic resource, and I'm glad to be here!

floatingLomas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 03:36 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
If you can handle a sailboat, bus living will be easy!
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-25-2015, 04:45 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC2000 FE
Engine: 190hp 5.9 Cummins
Rated Cap: 72
Welcome

I'm just to the east of you in Alberta.