Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-24-2017, 10:11 AM   #1

Hello from WeHo

Hi,
I’m New to skoolies. Here in West Hollywood, California. In the investigation phase. Leaning toward a short bus so far.

ccwrtrla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 12:03 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
Welcome! I am a shorty fan myself. But I would suggest reading as many of the build threads here as you can before locking into a specific unit. Much easier/cheaper to learn from other peoples "uh-oh's" and changes of mind.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-24-2017, 12:23 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Tango View Post
Welcome! I am a shorty fan myself. But I would suggest reading as many of the build threads here as you can before locking into a specific unit. Much easier/cheaper to learn from other peoples "uh-oh's" and changes of mind.

Amen!

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Old 11-24-2017, 02:20 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Are you aware of the good and bad drivetrains in the various brands of short buses yet?

It's true that many of us have limited parking options in the city with larger buses. It all depends on your expected use of the bus.
Old 01-08-2018, 08:51 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robin97396 View Post
Are you aware of the good and bad drivetrains in the various brands of short buses yet?

It's true that many of us have limited parking options in the city with larger buses. It all depends on your expected use of the bus.

Thanks for the advice. I’ve been reading a lot of posts and trying not to get overwhelmed.
Now I’m ready to research drive trains.
I’m hoping my bus will be my cabin retreat on wheels. It’s just me and maybe one guest, but mostly me getting away on my own.

Old 01-08-2018, 08:53 PM   #6

Quote: