Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-19-2016, 07:13 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1993
Chassis: Ford E350
Engine: 7.3L Diesel
Rated Cap: Whatever I make it. :D
Hello....I'm a noob and I think I may be buying a bus...

Just started down this schoolie venture.

We're off to look at a 93 shuttle bus with the 7.3 Diesel engine. Ford E350 chassis with the tow package.

PROS:
Exterior already done and painted.
No seats inside except one side bench.
2 captain chairs in front, stairs behind main cab.
$3000 with 150k miles.
Tow package - so maybe can tow our little Elantra?

CONS:
No roof AC. Has anyone put one of those split AC ductless systems in their bus? It's a heater too. Of course it forces me to be dependent on a campground plug though. With that solid metal roof I am hesitant to cut into it for a RV AC!
I saw on one forum possible transmission issues with that engine. Does anyone know?
Good news is that we have a friend who is a diesel mechanic that won't bleed us dry with repairs if necessary.

We're planning to take it from KY to Seattle this fall. Can this shuttle pull those hills without us pulling our hair out?

So glad to be a part of this group!
Thanks in advance!!

Kim_in_Indiana is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 07:45 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Startrans
Chassis: Ford e-350 single wheel
Engine: 5.4 litre
Rated Cap: 12
Towing an Elantra should be no sweat with that drivetrain. I own a 1997 shuttle bus with 5.4 litre gas engine. It tows my 18' car trailer with a full size pick up truck on it without too much trouble.
leadsled01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-19-2016, 07:51 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Startrans
Chassis: Ford e-350 single wheel
Engine: 5.4 litre
Rated Cap: 12