Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-25-2019, 06:03 PM   #1

Hello I'm new in need of advice

Hello everyone I'm new to the group. We have a 2002 Freightliner Thomas 66 passenger bus 5.9 24V we are moving from NY state to GA we are towing our van on a tow dolley. Wonder what the best/safest route would be to travel ? We are leaving on Thursday June 27th. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advanced.

Bruno1980 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 06:35 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?
Welcome to the site Bruno.
If it was me doing the drivin', I-95 most all the way. That way if any trouble occurs, you're going to get help the quickest, being on the hiway.
Hopefully your transmission can handle the heat.
Good luck...
peteg59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-25-2019, 06:55 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: IH 3800, 8 window
Engine: T444E w/ Spicer 5-speed MT
Rated Cap: I prefer broad-brims hats
^
What he said!
Thankfully you didn't wait until the very last second to ask!
Don't expect to set any land speed records.
You won't.
Especially hauling that toad...
Keep an eye on your RPMs and temp gauges, especially when climbing grades. If temperatures starts to creeping up, you'd be well advised to throttle back 'til you can find a place to safely cool your jets.
If you're in a hurry, a Skoolie is SO not the way to go!
Welcome to the insane asylum.
Old 06-25-2019, 07:05 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 2003
Coachwork: International
Chassis: CE 300
Engine: DT466e
Rated Cap: 65C-43A
Quote:
Originally Posted by HazMatt View Post
^
What he said!
Thankfully you didn't wait until the very last second to ask!
Don't expect to set any land speed records.
You won't.
Especially hauling that toad...