Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-16-2016, 11:41 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2008
Hello! I'm new to the idea!

Good evening everyone! Yall can call me Pudge, it has always been a bucket list item of mine to buy a bus and convert it into something that will allow me to dissappear from the real world so to speak and travel the country. I live in a small town in Southeast Texas and I'm also a US Navy Veteran. I have quite a few mental disorders from my time in service so I believe that having the escape of a bus to travel with would help me immensely. With that being said, I don't even know where to begin, I will be buying a bus in the next few weeks for sure and that's all I know at this point. My plan is to build this bus with a group of friends that I am very close with so that I always have the memories. We all have different skills and personalities so it will be interesting to see how it turns out. Any advice anyone could offer would be great, especially if you know the legal requirements for the State of Texas or anything else like that.

Pudgewomper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 12:46 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Welcome, Pudge! Thank you for your service.

Texas seems to be one of the more forgiving states. I'm sure another Texan will chime in here with his/her thoughts. If you can find a bus in Texas, you'll have a leg up in the rust department.

Good luck!
BusFiend is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-17-2016, 01:32 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Ive found a 1993 blue bird with 200000 miles on it that looks pretty good in the pictures for only $2600. I, going to go take a look at it this week I think. I wish I could find me a good step by step guide on how to do this. I have very little mechanic experience and like to have a solid plan before I start lol military habit.
Old 07-17-2016, 08:19 AM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne