Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-05-2018, 11:55 AM   #1

Hey everyone!

I am in the very beginning stages of my adventure, and am beyond excited to get started! Any guidance, advice, or wisdom would be very much appreciated. I feel like I've got a pretty solid plan so far, but you tell me. A bit about myself...

I'm a student currently living in Pittsburgh, PA. My girlfriend and I have been exploring the country together for over 2 years now! We use my 2017 Jeep Patriot with a 2-person Tepui rooftop tent. This has been great, and we have had some amazing adventures, but we want to travel full-time. No rent, no utility bills, and less STUFF!

Right now I've got to do as much research as possible and learn as much as I can. My plan after that is to either sell or trade my Jeep (as well as selling a lot of furniture and belongings) for something along the lines of a 24 passenger size bus. Once we have our bus, convert it to our needs and travel/live in our new home with our 4 pet rats for however long we'd like! Our lease is up in September, and we plan to hopefully finish our build by then (or by the end of the year). So I'll probably be reading just about every post on this site as well as many others and taking notes/planning until the weather here warms up and we can begin our search for the right bus.

Again, I'm sure any advice will help and we would certainly appreciate it, so thanks in advance!

brzvch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2018, 05:31 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: T/C 2000 28 foot Handy Bus
Engine: Cummins 5.9 Mechanical
Rated Cap: 2
Welcome
Find a place to work/ store it
Start researching what you will need to
do to re title it as an RV
Get insurance quotes
Water your money tree
Rivetboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2018, 02:48 AM   #3
Bus Crazy