Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 06-28-2018, 07:16 PM   #1

Hey from Montréal!

Hello! I have been dreaming of doing a skoolie for a couple years now and I finally have a 3 year plan to get 'er done. Right now I am totally in the conceptualization/planning stage.

I do want to raise the roof. I know, I know... but I am 6'4, and don't relish the idea of living in a space where my head is only barely shy of the ceiling. But I have a friend who is a ticketed and highly experienced welder and metal worker (she cut her teeth in Fort McMurray) who has agreed to help me out with this. I will also be seriously looking into a veg oil conversion.

I am a professional freelance writer, and I can take my work with me wherever I go. All I need is my laptop, my phone, and internet connection. So I figure this seems like a great project... build a skoolie, live in it permanently for at least a few years, write, and road trip around.

I will want to drive around Canada a lot, and visit friends up in the Yukon, in Alberta, and get a few acres of land near Gatineau where I can winter. So this conversion is going to have to take into consideration being able to live comfortably in it during the winters.

I will likely pester you all with all sorts of questions. I will pester you ALMOST as much as I voraciously read what has already been discussed, taking in all the information being shared here.

I am very excited. I am really looking forward to several years of freedom.

Thanks for making this forum! I am very happy to be here!

Spencer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 09:09 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Ford
Chassis: e350
Welcome! There is no going back now
HappyCamper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-29-2018, 11:13 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Coachwork: New Flyer
Chassis: D45HF "Viking"
Engine: 11.1L Detroit Diesel S60
Rated Cap: 51,600