Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-08-2017, 04:44 PM   #1

Hi, newbie here! i have questions,got time?

Hi, my name is wanda and my family and i are planning on going skoolie for a year so we can save and have a house but also have the added benny of a kickball camping bus should i buy a pre-loved skoolie for 6.5k or should i do my own? Can i do my own work for around 7k total or is my head in the clouds. Heelp! also is anyone selling their skoolie here id be willing to buy anywhere east coast, preferably southeast.

wandartist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-08-2017, 07:05 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome

Yes there are completed skoolie's that people are selling as well as partially finished projects people are selling. It's unlikely you'll find a completed skoolie for $7k, but who knows. Are you looking for a specific type of bus?
Old 04-08-2017, 07:25 PM   #3
Skoolie

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Carpenter Body
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65 to Zero. Folding Chair
In my mind it depends what you want to do.

Typically, I have seen four types of skoolie projects.
The insta-cheap version - seats are gone, 2x4 posts and shower curtains.
The Moderate - Untouched walls, floor and body with a camper style home built on top of everything.
The custom - replace walls, flooring, roof, lifting the roof, plumbing, electrical, off grid, sustainable and touring.
The pro - Ripping it down to the bare metal everywhere, redoing everything from start, including creature comforts in a beautiful appearance.

Now, the biggest issues are first money. Second, time. Third, dedication.
Before you can pick a type you need to consider what type of skoolie, what time frame you have and how much you are willing to devote yourself to it.