Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-17-2016, 06:02 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Howdy from River in Santa Fe, NM

I've often had thoughts of life in a "tiny home" or perhaps a converted school bus -- a "skoolie". The bus option is becoming more interesting, as I think I'd like, on occasion, to be a bit more mobile than I'd likely be in a "tiny house". But I'm a very "green" sort of fella, in the sense that I prefer not to have a really big harmful environmental impact by burning a lot of fossil fuels, so this concern is part of my inquiry in here.

I do want mobility. And I don't want to be extreme in any sense. And being on the road all the time would be a bit extreme. My rig would be parked most of the time. It's just right that way.

I love the look of really old buses, but I'm not a mechanic and am ignorant about those sort of matters. I imagine it would be very expensive to maintain a very old bus, and that finding replacement parts for it would be both expensive and ... let's call it "challenging". If I were rich (I'm certainly not!) I'd definitely get myself a really cool old or antique bus. But price is a huge factor, and I would require a very inexpensive bus, most likely. And a smaller one, since I don't want the huge fuel factor.

That's enough by way of introduction for now. Thanks for setting up a place for us to connect, ask questions, and learn!

River

MrRiver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2016, 09:34 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

I gather from the pace around here that there are relatively few active participants in this forum.
Old 05-19-2016, 09:54 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by MrRiver View Post
I gather from the pace around here that there are relatively few active participants in this forum.