Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-01-2019, 10:28 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie
 
BusT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 24
Year: 2003
Engine: Dt466e
Rated Cap: 30,000
I bought my first bus

. I paid 6500....
The bus was in California and I flew out there to drive it back.
It cost 600$ approx in gas for 1500 miles. Some hills. I’ll mention more on that....
It maxed out at 75ish . I kept it between 60-70 most of the time .
I saw 7mpg at 65 and rpms were 2500 with a few hills.
The bus is a 2003 international amtran
Rear air bags , dt466e , Allison 2000 , handicap rear flooring no wheel wells. In rear .
Bought with 187k miles.
Bus was previously sold to the guy I bought it off , from aaa bussales in phoneix .
He told me the bus had a issue where sometimes the gauges start going back and forth.
Maybe because the way they took off the governor or rev limiter. I’m not sure . Sounds or looks like it’s a short in the instrument cluster.
When the bus does do that the odometer doesn’t count miles.
So Maybe more miles on the engiene then what it seems. Which I wasn’t aware of until driving back.
So the fuel gauge also was acting up. I ended up running out of gas on I 10 maybe 2 hours past elpaso TX .
Added my 5 gallons spare and still didn’t turnover. A cool trucker picked me and my gf up and we drove 30mi to the nearest truck stop in fort Stockton . I bought 2 extra cans for 20$ a peice .
Then we caught a ride with two other people that were headed back I-10 west . Both from Texas humble. Super nice . They felt
Bad watching me ask everybody for a ride. I put another 15 gallons of fuel and tried to start still no turnover ..... anyways I ended up finding out how to prime the air out. Phone was dying and YouTube helped a little. Started up. Good to go.

As I got closer to San Antonio about an hour or 2 away. I started having a hard time climbing steep grades. The bus would slow down to 25mph even 35 sometimes and lost its guts.
I tried taking off cruise control and that seemed to work for a while . Once I started getting a feel for the shifts and lock up torque converter I got it going back up at 45- 55 the same steep grades .
Until it finally just quit.
I couldn’t drive more then 55 for the next 350 or so miles. Any grade would slow me down to 25 or 30.
As this was happening the gauges stayed pin down towards zero .
I drove like this for a very long time . Contemplated tow or getting serviced .
I noticed the radio was now off , no power to it. The whole trip I didn’t have speakers but I think that the radio losing connection and that the trans started acting up and not shifting right could be eletrical .
130 miles till Houston and I’m only able to feather the gas pedal up to 55 on flats . Any climb I’m back down to 35 40mph.
It seemed like I wasn’t able to get the torque converter engaged or I was missing 5th gear or overdrive .
Until I suddenly felt it hit 60 and power through up
To 65mph and then I had the bus back again. And it was good the last 120 miles to go.
So
How do I fix the instrutment cluster if it acts up again. Which somehow stopped from doing it every hour a few times per hour for up to 20min out of the hour .
Could have been the reset done buy aaa as seller mentioned .
Was the trans eletrical . Check out the videos I’ll link. ? How to prevent that.

Also now noticed oil near driveway . So I’ll check on that.
Other than this I love the bus. ... kind of respect the bus. Might of paid way to much but it’s mine now

Gauges malfunction https://youtu.be/T9mL1SbDGGw
BusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 11:35 PM   #2
Bus Geek
 
o1marc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2017
Location: Dawsonville, Ga.
Posts: 5,266
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
Faulty circuit board gauge panels are quite common. Many buses come through here with too good to be true mileage, it usually is.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-01-2019, 11:57 PM   #3
Skoolie
 
tugboater's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Palmer, AK
Posts: 172
Year: 2004
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Saf T Liner MVP 11 window 32í
Engine: CAT 3126E
Rated Cap: 72
Good test drive, long enough to get to know it little. I like that length...good luck!
__________________
One...slow...step...at a time.
tugboater is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:12 AM   #4
Mini-Skoolie
 
BusT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 24
Year: 2003
Engine: Dt466e
Rated Cap: 30,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by o1marc View Post
Faulty circuit board gauge panels are quite common. Many buses come through here with too good to be true mileage, it usually is.
Is there a way to plug in and check the mileage from a computer? Based off what the ecm says?
Is there a way someone could plug in and change the mileage also?
It does seem like the engine runs good but the oil pan is covered with a lot of grime. I canít tell if itís 185k or 250k
BusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 07:19 AM   #5
Mini-Skoolie
 
BusT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 24
Year: 2003
Engine: Dt466e
Rated Cap: 30,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by tugboater View Post
Good test drive, long enough to get to know it little. I like that length...good luck!
Yeah I feel like a pro driving it now besides on the hills and feathering the pedal to climb them at decent speed. Thanks Iíll need it !
BusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 08:24 AM   #6
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,135
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
change your fuel filters.. you ran a HEUI engine out of fuel, probably sloshed up any sediment in the tank and clogged the filters.. maybe some bad fuel?


maybe just had air bubbles working through? you get air bubbles in an injector and sometimes they take a long time to work out.. makes for a cylinder or 2 to skip and take away power..




also did the weather change from the time it started slowing down till it "picked back up?"


these newer 466E's are designed to "de-rate" if you get them hot.. so you are climbing hills in hot texas.. it gets hot and slows dowmn the max fueling ability so you dont burn it up and ruin it.. you had no gauges so who knows that the temp was..



if it cooled off in the evening or you started going down hills.. it will go back to normal fueling..



plugging into the computer and reading the 'P' screen will show the hours / mileage. as well as the last time it de-rated fue to oil pressure or over-heat.

the factory de-rate setting is 235. but many people in Hot climates set it lower as 235 is hot enough to already damage the cylinder liners.. so it couldve been set to alarm at 235 and start de-rate at 216. (thats a number ive seen in some computers)..



if you get the transmission hot.. it will go to a different shift schedule to keep the converter locked through many more ranges. and weill attempt to stay in a higher gear rather than hunt up and down.. this is designed to help cool it off..



if it is unlocked the engine will just rev, it wont ever lock the converter if the datalionk between engione and trans dies.. the gauges are on the data-bus.. so its possible a short in your gauge cluster takes down the datalink and makes the trans stay unlocked.. your bus wouldnt have as much "power" in the hills.. the engine would just stay revved to close to redline..



-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 09:15 AM   #7
Mini-Skoolie
 
BusT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 24
Year: 2003
Engine: Dt466e
Rated Cap: 30,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
change your fuel filters.. you ran a HEUI engine out of fuel, probably sloshed up any sediment in the tank and clogged the filters.. maybe some bad fuel?


maybe just had air bubbles working through? you get air bubbles in an injector and sometimes they take a long time to work out.. makes for a cylinder or 2 to skip and take away power..




also did the weather change from the time it started slowing down till it "picked back up?"


these newer 466E's are designed to "de-rate" if you get them hot.. so you are climbing hills in hot texas.. it gets hot and slows dowmn the max fueling ability so you dont burn it up and ruin it.. you had no gauges so who knows that the temp was..



if it cooled off in the evening or you started going down hills.. it will go back to normal fueling..



plugging into the computer and reading the 'P' screen will show the hours / mileage. as well as the last time it de-rated fue to oil pressure or over-heat.

the factory de-rate setting is 235. but many people in Hot climates set it lower as 235 is hot enough to already damage the cylinder liners.. so it couldve been set to alarm at 235 and start de-rate at 216. (thats a number ive seen in some computers)..



if you get the transmission hot.. it will go to a different shift schedule to keep the converter locked through many more ranges. and weill attempt to stay in a higher gear rather than hunt up and down.. this is designed to help cool it off..



if it is unlocked the engine will just rev, it wont ever lock the converter if the datalionk between engione and trans dies.. the gauges are on the data-bus.. so its possible a short in your gauge cluster takes down the datalink and makes the trans stay unlocked.. your bus wouldnt have as much "power" in the hills.. the engine would just stay revved to close to redline..



-Christopher

What kind of software do I need to read and or plug into the bus. Is it free? Would I need to buy a special plug or obd ?

The weather got colder as the problem happened . It mightíve been close to 50 degree either way for the most of the time trans was acting up. I wish I wouldíve recorded that. Engien temps never got above 200 even when in California and Texas was probably colder as a front had blown in.
The gauges werenít working right when trans was acting up so I canít tell if I couldíve been overheating and didnít feel like it was running to hot.
I did notice a gauge without a faceplate that would come on randomly or light up while hitting a bump that I was able to smack and turn it off. It was to the left of all my other gauges.
I do plan on checking oil levels and changing filters , maybe coolant as well. And routine stuff. Whatís really strange is after the trans was acting up and stopped I drove another 2 hours fine . With no problems . Or even the usual gauges going back and forth.
BusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 10:21 AM   #8
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,135
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
Navistar gives away a free version of ServiceMaxx J1708 that you can read codes, read mileage, change Customer parameters like cruise, speed limiters, and the likes...



you need a Nexiq USB link 2. Device or chinese knock off equivalent of said device to plug into the bus... it's connector is either a gray 6 pin round or green/gray 9 pin round.. these are called deutsch connectors and they use a different protocol than OBD-II.



some codes and such can be read with a BlueFire device and an app on your smart phone or tablet..



a scangauge D gives you access to trouble codes and some parameters as well..



if for some reason you have completely loose wiring and were losing power to the transmission.. it would run in 2nd or 3rd gear Limp mode and not run any higher than that...



if the gauge panel loses power and then regains it.. the needles all sweep to their max position, then sweep back to 0 then show their readings.. so if the needles were constantly going up and hitting their max then mion. every time you hit a pump.. its likely something loose... a common issue in these gauge clusters..
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 11:57 AM   #9
Mini-Skoolie
 
BusT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 24
Year: 2003
Engine: Dt466e
Rated Cap: 30,000
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadillackid View Post
Navistar gives away a free version of ServiceMaxx J1708 that you can read codes, read mileage, change Customer parameters like cruise, speed limiters, and the likes...



you need a Nexiq USB link 2. Device or chinese knock off equivalent of said device to plug into the bus... it's connector is either a gray 6 pin round or green/gray 9 pin round.. these are called deutsch connectors and they use a different protocol than OBD-II.



some codes and such can be read with a BlueFire device and an app on your smart phone or tablet..



a scangauge D gives you access to trouble codes and some parameters as well..



if for some reason you have completely loose wiring and were losing power to the transmission.. it would run in 2nd or 3rd gear Limp mode and not run any higher than that...



if the gauge panel loses power and then regains it.. the needles all sweep to their max position, then sweep back to 0 then show their readings.. so if the needles were constantly going up and hitting their max then mion. every time you hit a pump.. its likely something loose... a common issue in these gauge clusters..

That’s what it seemed. What’s a cheap knockoff? There on amazon for 600$+ but seemed to fakes according to the reviews . I also never got any codes popping up on dash. Maybe because the instrument cluster wasn’t working or the one light that had no gauge in front of it was a trans temp lsensor or something and just was t there
I think loose wiring . Can I download the software from Navistar website ?
With both the gauge cluster and the transmission .

What’s the fix just re solder the connections behind the gauges on the mother board ?
What about the trans to , I feel like it was in 2nd and 3rd the whole time. The take off was rough shifting and max speed would go to 55 maybe 58 then back down near 30 or under.

Also when trans started working again gauges worked ....
when trans was messed up the gauges were pinned down to 0
Most of the ride the gauge cluster was sweeping back and forth for at least 10min every hour
BusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-02-2019, 12:41 PM   #10
Mini-Skoolie
 
BusT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: Houston
Posts: 24
Year: 2003
Engine: Dt466e
Rated Cap: 30,000
My trans serial number in pic
And a post about an Allison 2000 recall
My serial number is just out of a post describing an issue with tourqe converter also.. still I think it could be a wiring limp home mode issue that happend.


Also I attached pics of my rear differential . I still canít figure out the gearing.

Last pic was somehow uploaded upside down
Of rear diiferntial
BusT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
aaa sales & services, allison 2000, amtran genesis, dt466e

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:12 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.