Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-22-2016, 02:23 PM   #1

Insurance

Hi, Mike here. I am new to the skoolie world. I found a bus. I live in Michigan and it is currently in AZ. I want to drive it home (looking forward to the adventure, plus, Its too expensive to have shipped). However, I am having a hard time finding insurance for it while it is still registered as a bus. Any help out there?

mikefsythe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2016, 07:28 PM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by mikefsythe View Post
Hi, Mike here. I am new to the skoolie world. I found a bus. I live in Michigan and it is currently in AZ. I want to drive it home (looking forward to the adventure, plus, Its too expensive to have shipped). However, I am having a hard time finding insurance for it while it is still registered as a bus. Any help out there?
Hi Mike

I just purchased a bus in TX that I needed to transport to Missouri. Prepare yourself. No insurance company will want to insure you because it's a very grey area....it's not a school bus used for commercial purposes or a church bus..... but it's also not yet converted and able to be registered as an RV. I can't imagine why they were hesitant to insure a random single 33yo burly ginger who wanted to live in a school bus alone in the forest? haha I called a GAZILLION insurance companies before I finally found a solution for this murky grey area...

This may not work for everyone....but because of my family being farmers, I was able to insure the bus through Progressive as a commercial farm vehicle. I had to state that I did not use the bus to transport commercial goods more than 20% of the time it was used and that I did not transport people...only supplies and small pieces of equipment.