Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 10-10-2017, 09:38 AM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Ward Senator
Engine: 7.3
Rated Cap: 78
Introduction and Questions

All,

I'm active duty Air Force, and will be returning from a deployment in not too long. When I return, I'd like to start working on my skoolie. I'm an Air Traffic Control Officer, for what it's worth.

I've spent the past month reading this forum in depth, but I have some questions remaining:

1. Do I need a CDL to drive the bus off of an auction lot legally?

2. I'm looking at some Crowns, which I've heard are bulletproof, but are they more expensive for someone who doesn't know how to do engine work themselves? I just love those lines

...but most of them are 300k+ mileage.

3. Would you trust a bus that is in "good working order" from govdeals, or any auction site for that matter, for a 1000 mile drive back to my home base?

I'm looking forward to diving deep into this world and making great friends along the way. Thanks for your advice, all.

Velocipedic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2017, 10:28 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
Howdy & Welcome !

No need for a CDL. It is only required by folks using the vehicle for "Commercial" purposes. You will most likely need a temporary "In Transit" tag. Depends on local regs but in Texas it is a cheap & simple process to apply for and get a 30 day tag so you are legit on the ride home.

Crowns are awesome and beautiful rigs, but as you note, being older and typically high mileage (they do seem to last forever), upgrading, servicing and maintaining are going to be way more expensive than current models. Unless you are prepared for what comes with making a "vintage" ride reliable in the modern world, it can be a back breaker (my 1946 is a good example).