Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-17-2019, 08:24 PM   #1

Long time lurker, paraplegic bus life?

Hi all I've been a lurker for awhile now. I was referred here by a gentleman from Washington I met on Facebook. I'm finally at a point in life where I am very much considering selling all of my stuff to fund a bus build and see more than just the east coast and Pennsylvania. I'm no expert but I think I have an idea of what I want. I'm thinking the longest dog nose I can get and handicap lift is a must because I'm paraplegic. I will definitely need solar of some sort. And all of the normal build stuff. I want to be able to be pretty self contained and out in the boonies for 2 to 3 weeks at a time if I want to.

Are there any others who are paraplegic that have decided to hit the road and see the country? What obstacles did you find hardest to deal with? How did you get medical supplies on the road? How hard was it to get cdl if you have a bigger bus or air brakes or pulling a trailer with atv or van or both? I'm sure a sxs with an e250 van on a trailer behind a full-size bus definitely puts me in cdl territory, but there are some places I just won't be able to take the bus so I will need my van or an ATV of sorts to see things I want to see.

I'm not getting any younger and figured I may as well set some goals now , and I wanna see the country, catch fish in every state, and sleep in the nicest secluded spots in every state. Maybe for a couple years maybe the rest of my life, who knows?

Dw89xj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2019, 09:06 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 1990
Coachwork: Thomas 4 window w/lift
Chassis: G30~Chevy cutaway
Engine: 5.7/350 Chevy Vortec
Rated Cap: Just me and my "stuff"?