Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-03-2017, 11:06 AM   #1

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Freightliner Champion
Chassis: MSB 31' bumper to bumper
Engine: Cummins 6.7, Allison AT
Rated Cap: 27 adults
My First Bus Project (and first post)

Lurking for 6 months (as I was doing research) and looked at over 300 buses all over the country the last 6 weeks to meet my unique needs. Almost purchased one of three school buses I had found, shied away from some neat vintage (money pit) finds, but then came across my bus not far away from me on Craigslist. Just got it this week.

I have been a long-time builder/tinkerer/creator/repurposer of things. Long-time member and moderator of two large photography forums (that have since closed). So I am happy to be here officially.

My build and needs are pretty unique. Will be fully modular (at least for the first year or two) as I get out and use it and see how I use it. I purchased it as a commercial platform for my commercial photography business. "Headshot bus", on-location shooting & living platform, configurable from one use to another from overnight solo use to a 2-week road trip with the family of 4. A write-off every time I turn the key and use it for photography. Off-grid for a week or more is the intent.

$500,000 liability/uninsured motorist/property damage/personal injury protection commercial policy was cheap. Fully insured for whatever I do with it commercially with my LLC or personally (other than hauling paid passengers, which I am leaving my options open if I do workshops).