Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-05-2016, 11:54 AM   #1

New and Curious

Hi, I'm Shawna and I do not own a bus ... yet. I am in massage school and have been toying with the idea of turning an old school bus into a mobile massage business. It seemed fitting, as I am currently a teacher, but am leaving that life to do massage. I am curious to hear others' stories about converting buses into something other than homes and RVs. Looking forward to reading the other forum topics and making an informed decision after a lot of research.

Swilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 12:24 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Hello and welcome to the forum.
It can be done. My fiance Roxy is an LMT. For mobile massage its just much cheaper to have a station wagon or hatchback and a nice portable table. A bus while large for a vehicle would make a fairly cramped place to do massage. It could definitely be done, though. We have friends that do mobile massage at different festivals and events but they just take a table and a tent so that they can actually be inside the event.
Depending on where you're located the massage industry can be a decent paying job. Around here (central Fl) not so much so.
Good thread topic- we will definitely be following along.
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2016, 12:58 PM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
hey there! I know around here (columbus ohio).. the couple that I know who are massage therapists come to people's homes and set up a table right in the comfort of the client's home...