Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-12-2019, 05:26 PM   #1

Year: 2005
Coachwork: Orion
Chassis: V
Engine: Cummins ISM 10.8L 280HP
Rated Cap: 38
New, looking to build my skoolie soon...

Good evening!

I'm a school bus driver from Richmond, VA and I've been long interested in buying a used school bus to do a RV conversion. I am seeking to transition to full-time RV life and do cross-country travel in the future.

I would like to receive guidance towards buying a bus, like if it's better to buy a conventional, FE transit, or "pusher". And what powertrain configurations should I seek in a build, and what would be the best length for my intended use (I'm single, no kids, and all I have can fit in 2 tupperwares).

I look forward to learning from y'all as I begin and continue my transition into the skoolie life. Thank y'all in advance.

Metrolinerxlz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 05:53 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Welcome to the wide world of skoolies!

Before we suggest a particular drivetrain or configuration, I think its important to know a bit more about how you'd like to travel. It sounds like you're pretty flexible - you need room for one person, and you don't have a lot of stuff. That means that you could fit into just about any type of bus - a cutaway van, a shortie on a full-size chassis, or a full-size 40' bus.

For example, are you planning on towing a car behind your bus? Having a car (or jeep - check out some of the places Dory the bus has gone) means you can park the bus, and explore a bit more in something that fits in a parking space. You have to plan ahead to go food shopping in a 40' bus. A bus on a cutaway van chassis won't tow a car as well - but the whole bus will fit in the supermarket parking lot.