Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-26-2015, 06:52 PM   #1

new member considering purchase

Hi from Oregon - great resource here thank you!

I just got back from looking at a bus with an eye to converting it for living. I am completely new to the RV world, but conventional motor homes and trailers leave me feeling like I'm trapped in a rolling suburban 1990's home nightmare - I need some built-in funkiness!

I am hoping some more knowledgeable folks here (anybody!) will let me know if it's in the ballpark for reasonable cost, and what kind of albatross it might be if it doesnt pan out -

1991 IH 3800 long-nose 36foot bus. DT466 w.turbo and 4spd Allison auto. Air brakes. 161,000 miles. All fluids changed 7 years ago with only 1500 mi since then, Allison had a "full service" whatever that means -300 miles ago.

bus has been gutted and has a working propane heater & stove. 30 amp exterior plug wired to a inside breaker box and 4 100v circuits. 3 45w solar panels on roof charge a deep cycle battery for 12v lights. Has a 110v on-demand water heater for sink and shower. Shower and toilet are "funky" at best, No holding tanks, as the gent has had it hooked to the sewer for the last couple years. Has a small generator mounted under the bus. Funky white latex paint job with most windows painted over. Tires are 22.5" with 95% tread .

knowing there will be a bunch of work to do on the interior, and I fully expect a few surprises, what is the consensus on this rig as a starting point for a mobile living space. I wont be driving it much in the near future, but have some nice private land to park it on while working on, and living aboard it.

If I can get it for 3 grand, am I making a big mistake? Opinions welcome and appreciated!

Thanky!

SodaCreekSam (Dave)

sodacreeksam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 07:39 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas