Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-27-2015, 11:40 AM   #1

new member from Oregon re question

Hi everyone,
My wife and I have been thinking about getting a school bus and converting it into a bus we can live in and travel in full time for some time now. Hoping to be able to afford it within a year or so. So since I have time on my side I want to make a wise purchase.we want to travel the 49 states and Canada. I do auto body work for a living and have done carpentry, electrical and plumbing as well, My concerns and fears are not in those areas.
from what I have learned on this website I really want the dt466 (non-electronic) in a rear engine model, but cant seem to find one (do they exist?).
I know very little about diesel engines and have fears of breaking down with a expensive repair in a remote location.
I would entertain a cummins or DD straight six as well.
so my questions are:
can you get a straight six diesel engine in a re?
what are the best gear ratios?

dnsjavadog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2015, 02:01 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

I have seen a lot of Cummins 5.9/ISB and 8.3/8.3L in buses and would not hesitate in getting a bus with one of those.

There are quite a few Cat 3116/3126's out there. They are good engines but tend to cost more to maintain than the others.

For most practical purposes you want to stay away from Detroit 2-cycle engines unless you or someone you know really "knows" a DD 2-cycle. They are good engines but they have quirks that will destroy them if you don't know how to care and repair them properly.

I have seen a few buses that have had DD Series 50/60 engines in them. Those are some of the best engines ever built but I have never seen one of them in a school bus.