Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-02-2019, 11:52 PM   #1
Skoolie

Year: 1986
Coachwork: ward
Chassis: ford B-70
Engine: Cummins 8.3 liter
New member, in need of place to stay.

Hey guys, I’m new to the Skoolie community. My name is Reuben, I’m 21 and live south of Kansas City.

About my bus:
In February I bought Dave. He’s a forty foot 1986 ward bus on a ford chassis. I bought Dave from a couple near Las Vegas. Was a little nervous about flying out there and driving it back, but all went well! The gas mileage on the 1,200 mile drive back was lesss then ideal. Averaged around 7 miles a gallon. Not completely sure if this is normal or not. The bus is powered by a ford 429 engine put there some time in the past.(don’t know the history on that) This isn’t the stock engine. Anyway.. Dave has had the roof raised 16 inches and been completely gutted and new inch and a half insulation added on the walls floor and ceiling before I bought him.

About myself:
I grew up in the Kansas City area till I was 16 and moved out to southern California and worked as a bee keeper there for two years. Moved back to Kansas City and went to college and earned my associates in automotive technology. Right now I’m working at a crane manufacturing plant, saving up to finish the conversion on Dave.

My problem:
Dave is stored at a friends house and I’m unable to work on it there, and have nowhere to take it to do all that needs to be done. I can’t have it where I live cause of space restrictions.

What I’m looking for:
I’m looking for a place to store Dave and live while I fix him up. I’m open to something near the Kansas City area, or anywhere across the country. I’d like it to be somewhere that’d I’d have access to tools that I don’t own, mainly a welder.

What I have to offer: