Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 04-23-2016, 07:05 PM   #1

Wink New Skoolie Here!

Hello All! I'm new to Skoolie and stoked to be here! For years, my lovely wife has been bugging me to buy a bus and convert it. Today I caved and agreed. We are on the hunt for the perfect bus. Doing lots of research at the moment, so I apologize in advance for all of the questions I'm sure I'll ask.

My wife, Heather, and I have been married for 18 years. We have 7 children together, ranging in ages from 16 to 1. 6 Princes and 1 Princess. We homeschool and my company is home based. We are ripe for a Skoolie. Oh, and we have 3 little Chihuahuas that are looking forward to this journey as well.

I look forward to getting to know the different members of this great community and learning all that I can and helping if I can. #GodIsGood

Barefoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 07:29 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Coachwork: 97 Bluebird TC1000 5.9
Welcome Barefoot
There are no stupid questions, but some do get asked a lot more frequently than others. It's a learning process for most of us since few of us were actually school bus drivers in the official sense.
You're going to need to read a lot of threads and catch up on information as much as possible. If there's anything you don't understand just ask and you'll probably get more answers than you care for.
Have you found a bus yet or have you decided on what type you want?
Robin97396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2016, 07:35 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

With such a large group it sounds as if what you need is a 40' rear engine bus in order to have enough space to accommodate everyone.

There are a lot of really nice build ups with different ideas of how to maximize space and sleeping spaces.