Old 08-11-2018, 05:07 PM   #1

New skoolie wannabe

Hi all

I so love this site. I've done alot of research and still have more to do. I always wanted an rv. But like others have said, the way they are set up doesn't seem to work.

I am a writer and crafter and have dreamt of this portion of my life since 1990. I was 40 when, as a single mom, i started college in environmental science. The one thing that kept me focused is that i wanted to semi retire as a writer. Yes i do write but need to get my stuff out there.

The decision to semi retire was made for me. After 4 years of harassment and being bullied, i was assaulted by a co-worker. Because i was not family, i was let go. And to make matters worse, workers comp was denied.

I kind of spiraled down for a couple of years, used up my savings and lost my housing. Things are turning around now and I am excited about what is to come next.

I haved appealed the workers comp and should know this month and am pretty confident that i will win. My attorney quoted an amount which will pay for a skoolie with upgrades, such as solar panels, Insulation and composting toilet. I will stiil have some financial padding too.

The furniture i have in storage is perfect for a skoolie for myself, my pup and my brat cat. That's it for now. Sorry for the long introduction.
Meanderthal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2018, 05:18 PM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2003
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: HDX
Engine: Cat C7
Rated Cap: 84 passenger
Welcome to our collective nightmare. I purchased a skoolie (84 p Thomas Saf-T-Liner (transit style)) because rent in my neck of the woods is obscene. Lots of room inside and it's MINE, all mine!
CaptSquid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2018, 03:47 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by CaptSquid View Post
Welcome to our collective nightmare. I purchased a skoolie (84 p Thomas Saf-T-Liner (transit style)) because rent in my neck of the woods is obscene. Lots of room inside and it's MINE, all mine!