Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-24-2017, 08:22 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

New to the adventure/future full timers!

Hello, Skoolie people... skoolinites... skooligans?

I am Andy, and my wife is Heidi. We are currently living in Grenada, West Indies for Heidi's schooling, but we call Oregon home (Eugene is where we lived before) and will be returning in May! Though, I might return home a month or so early... more on that later! Heidi is finishing her second year of medical school on her way to being a Family Practice/Psychiatrist and wants to focus on alternative treatments for mental illness (alternatives to psychotropic drugs).

I am very much so just along for the ride! I was a student with little aim (but excellent grades!) before we came here. The first year here I built furniture on my front porch and planted a huge garden. Both having mixed results, but turned out very well for my first attempts either. After that first year of baking in the heat on my rented rural porch, I decided to take a break and enjoy the island and just relax for the rest of my time here. A work permit is nearly impossible to get as a foreigner here, so I spend my time reading, snorkeling and trying to get out of the heat... and plotting our future SKOOLIE!

Living in the Caribbean for 2 years has been an intense experience. A mix between being on holiday under waving palms and living in a nearly third world country where running water only happens for about 6-8 hours a day (or rather middle of the night) during dry season. It has been a great experience, but we are ready to be home for a bit!