Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-04-2016, 08:39 PM   #1

New to the skoolie

Hi everyone!

So, I am Jalen. Currently live Indianapolis, Indiana with my 4 huskies and cat. I've been looking at downsizing my costs and housing. Paying way too much money in rent and lease will be up in Feb 17... So, I figured what could go better than to convert a bus into a living quarters. The plan is to do this and over the next year or so save more money to buy land to build a home. So, this plan for my first bus will have to be very budget friendly!

I am new to this whole thing and have a lot of enthusiasm. But I would very much appreciate everyone's input on what I should look out for, ideas, certain types of buses to steer clear of?

thanks and look forward to getting to know everyone
Jalen

jalmat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-04-2016, 09:16 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH 3800
Engine: Navistar DT466E
Rated Cap: 72 passenger
Quote:
Originally Posted by jalmat View Post
Hi everyone!

So, I am Jalen. Currently live Indianapolis, Indiana with my 4 huskies and cat. I've been looking at downsizing my costs and housing. Paying way too much money in rent and lease will be up in Feb 17... So, I figured what could go better than to convert a bus into a living quarters. The plan is to do this and over the next year or so save more money to buy land to build a home. So, this plan for my first bus will have to be very budget friendly!

I am new to this whole thing and have a lot of enthusiasm. But I would very much appreciate everyone's input on what I should look out for, ideas, certain types of buses to steer clear of?

thanks and look forward to getting to know everyone
Jalen
Welcome! Lots of great talent here, and a deep pool of resources for you to tap.