Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-27-2019, 01:47 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Smile Newbie, excited to join the Skoolie community

Hey hey everyone. I've been watching from the wings the last few weeks and soaking up the wealth of knowledge and experience from this group. This site is awesome!

My name is Molly and I'm new to all of this. I woke up one day last month and realized I was miserable, so I quit my cushy job as a strategy execution consultant to follow my childhood dream of being an artist (and the huge pay-cut that comes with that dream ).

Over the last month, as I planned my new life as an artist, I stumbled upon the concept of a Skoolie. Wow! The concept sure has changed a lot over the last 20 years or so...back in 1997 when I was in college, converting a school bus into a livable space meant throwing a futon and some tapestries in the back. I'm so glad things have evolved!

I am sold on the idea of living on the road...living everywhere and nowhere at the same time. My thought is to travel around for 6-12 months and then pick a spot to buy a bit of land where I can set up a "home base" with a storage container house that I can always go back to (the next project! )

I have a lot to learn but I'm researching every day and determined to make this a reality. I'm very grateful to learn from those who have went before and I'll continue to rely on the expertise and advice of others.