Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-03-2018, 03:40 PM   #1

Newbie from Berkeley, CA

Hello Fellow Wanderers!

I've been debating alternate dwellings for ten years, attending weekend seminars on how to build a tiny house, buying multiple books on cob building, and more recently just visiting campervan sales lots and having a look around. Man those things are expensive! The whole thrust of this adventure is to do things on the cheap and save money. That's when I found you guys! It never even occurred to me to build a skoolie, until I came across them on youtube last week.

I've nixed the idea of a tiny house, since I don't own a truck to tow it, or property (with an existing building) to place it. I've nixed the cob dwelling as well, until I have property somewhere hidden where they won't tear it down. A used RoadTrek was really attractive, until I saw the price tags. ($65,000 for used 10 yr old vans). So I'm pretty sure this is the solve for me. As an artist, I really wanted a hand in the design and build, so it seems like a good fit at this point in my life.

Some history - I grew up in western NY, bought a '78 Trans Am at 18 and drove across the country to San Diego, CA. Didn't know a soul. Eventually moved to LA, where I lived in an Airstream trailer for 3 years in Topanga Canyon (LOVED it), while I attended design school. I then moved up to the Bay Area where I am currently...slaving away at the 9-5 - trying to figure out how to get back on the road.