Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 07-19-2018, 07:18 PM   #1

Newbie Here

Hi! So excited to find this website! I'm a single mom with two kids. One will graduate in the upcoming school year. I have decided not to renew my lease next year and instead, buy a skoolie and hit the road with my 13 year old for a year. We both like adventure and camping. Having said that, I'm a little scared about buying and working on a bus. I enjoy learning and trying new things... I think it's vital to my sanity! Any advice is greatly appreciated.

I am looking at purchasing a 1974 Crown. The biggest selling point for me is its steel cage. I researched rv crashes and honestly thought about just not going. Then, I found the skoolie world and Crown buses. Another selling point for me is that it has already been converted. I could make it my own but it's already ready for the road as-is. The negative is its cost... mid 20's. I'm going to include the info given in the ad. If you have any advise, my son and I would be very grateful.

Thank you!
Meleah

BUS INFO:

1974 Crown Supercoach Conversion for sale. California bus through and through. Was in service in San Jose originally but bought from district in 1990. Since then it has gone through very thorough conversion (list below) and been on only 3 long trips: California to Florida and back: mid 90s, California to Ohio and back: early 2000s, and San Diego to Seattle and back, 2010.
Mid engine Detroit 671 with 5 spd manual transmission. As close as we can tell, 350k miles. Had the engine inspected and serviced 8 months ago. Runs strong, just took it on a 300 mile day trip to Baja California Mexico Wine Country last weekend, 5/12/18. Current registration in California as a motor home and smog exempt.
2 new Goodyear G751s on Alcoa rims on the front and four slightly used Sumitomo St727's on the rear.