Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-20-2014, 07:30 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Newbie lerker here.

I'm Donald. I live 25 miles South of Dallas, TX. I just discovered skoolies and am intrigued. I would love to have a project and an RV, but I'm not sure if I should jump into an expensive hobby without thinking about it for a while. I'm looking at your ideas and determining what skills I have and need for a project like this. Will my wife put up with me? What are the odds that I will end up with a half finished mess?

I have some electrical experience. I work on Uninterruptible Power Supplies for a living. Sometimes, I can even get free used deep cycle batteries. My dad is a carpenter. Some of my neighbors are diesel mechanics, engineers, car stereo professional installers, motorcycle mechanics, and truck drivers. So I have a pretty broad occasional support group. My diesel mechanic friend manages a large city fleet. I wonder if they also take care of the school busses and can get me inside info on a deal. He might decide to get one also and we could pool abilities. His mechanic skills and my electrical and overall help. My weakness will be welding and metal work.

We have acre lots, so parking in the backyard shouldn't be a problem. I'll have to check the HOA rules, but there are already lots of RVs in the neighborhood, so that shouldn't be a problem, as long as I keep my messes picked up. I look forward to studying your builds.

Texan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-29-2014, 06:25 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Re: Newbie lerker here.

I'd say you're doing it right. Get a good idea of everything involved and weigh out the options.