Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-14-2019, 12:57 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 2000
Engine: Cummins ISB-190-BUS ENCORE / ISB CM550
Non-RV Conversion in Henrico, VA

Greetings,
I'm a Systems Administrator for Henrico Schools and were in the process of retrofitting a old school bus into a new mobile training center for our department.
While not the typical bus to rv conversion seen here, I've spent hours looking over the information on this site and a lot of it has been very useful.
Some Details about our bus:
Model: Bluebird TC FE 3700
Build Date: 08/16/1999
Trans: Alyson AT545
Rear: 4.44
This bus was a spare an is in surprisingly good shape. We've got big plans for her and will be working with the local specialty center kids to get a lot of the work done.
I'll post pictures below, and ask a couple of questions here:
I found a thread that mentioned that with the 4.44 rear I should in theory be able to raise the governor to 74 without any issues? Does that sound correct? Right now the bus is limited to 52 and that is painfully slow when going cross county. It adds about 20 min to our trip.

Does anyone have any experience hooking up a trailer hitch to the back of a 2000 BB? Were planning on a small storage rack at the rear of the bus to power our generator.

Anyways, here's the "befores" and the proposed new layout. Its basic I know, but were still very excited about the uses for our department.

rabryant1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2019, 06:07 AM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

Lets try the photos again....

Click image for larger version

Name:	2019-01-29 10.47.57.jpg
Views:	8
Size:	854.5 KB
ID:	29809

Name:	2019-01-29 10.48.28.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	746.6 KB
ID:	29810

Name:	2019-01-29 10.48.58.jpg
Views:	6
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	29811

Name:	BusDsignOverView.PNG
Views:	19
Size:	89.7 KB
ID:	29812
Old 02-15-2019, 06:35 AM   #3
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas