Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-10-2019, 02:10 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Noob in Pittsburgh PA area

Hi all!

Noob here in PA. Completely and totally HOOKED on getting and building a Skoolie from scratch. I'm pretty handy with stuff and my wife and I have been tirelessly scouring YouTube and other various spots for tips and tricks and otherwise feeding our new obsession.

I've been looking at busses on various sites and am planning to go look at a bus lot next week when traveling for work. The goal is to have the "canvas"(unconverted bus) in Pittsburgh over the holidays and to get started tearing it down over the Winter.

So many things to plan and dream for ... We cannot wait!

Hengy (Mike H in Pittsburgh, PA)

Hengy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 04:20 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77
1st piece of advice, DON"T buy anything in the Pittsburgh area or anywhere within 750 miles of Pittsburgh. Rust will be a major issue. I think this is one of the most important variables in buying a bus, the amount of rust. There are too many areas west of us that have rust free buses for the same price as the rusty north ones. The worst rust on a bus is often hidden under the floor and can't be seen until you remove the floor. Really nice exterior looking buses have cancer through the floor that isn't visible, so the trick is to just stay away from the NE area. The west doesn't use salt on the roads in winter, salt is what rots the buses.
o1marc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 04:38 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

For SURE!! We’re looking in Kentucky and Virginia currently as well as outliers in Indiana (really leery of Indiana).

Looking for a BIG pusher.

Hengy
Hengy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2019, 05:25 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Chassis: International