Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-20-2017, 08:45 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Out to my Ol' 55.

Good evening, everyone

My wife and I purchased a 97' international 3800 with DT466e back in January.

We live in Norfolk, Va. the bus was for sale in Albany Ohio on eBay for $1900.

I put in a $1500 offer and it was accepted immediately. My Twin brother and stepfather went to pick it up for me with no issues.

We had been looking for a bus that:
1. Was not too long but not too short.
2. Ran (I am an amateur auto mechanic, but brand new to diesels.)

I had not seen this bus at all until we went to Ohio for our baby shower, which was this past weekend.

I was worried about getting it titled and insured to make the trip back to Norfolk. I have read through plenty of threads on the inspection criteria in Ohio.

I went to the DMV and told them it was being converted to an RV. We asked if we could get the title changed to an RV now, to save us the headache later. She had no problem doing that for us.

So now I have a yellow bus, full of seats titled and registered as a motorhome.

My all state agent had a bus conversion option to insure the bus liability for $125 a year.

I checked the fluid levels on the bus, and it made the 40 minute drive out to the in-laws no problem. The tires held air. So I am pretty sure we are ready to drive it home.

I pressure washed the bus, and loaded up all the baby shower gifts into it the night before we left town.

We gassed up the bus in the morning and left town. The bus is governed at 55 mph. We set two days for the 570 mile trip.

Ol' 55 is the name we chose for the bus after the Tom Waits song of the same name. It seemed fitting for the first trip we'd take on the untested fighting machine.

The bus made the trip fine. I could talk for a while as I am sure most of you can on the difference driving 55 mph in bus compared to 75 in a car.