Old 04-07-2016, 05:12 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Scared and excited!

I'm a single mom from Ohio. I have been considering getting a bus for about 6 months. I really love the idea of taking on this project with my soon to be 13 year old son. Then i start to feel over whelmed. I believe traveling in a skoolie would be a life changing experience for both of us but is it really possible for someone with limited building skills and zero electrical or plumbing skills? Encouragement or reality checks welcome☺
Oh, I am a home health aid and would be bringing my client with us. She is really more family than client but i thought it is worth mentioning i have the blessing of being able to bring my job with me.
mschleppi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:28 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: TC 1000
Engine: 5.9
Send a message via Yahoo to Robin97396
That's an interesting new angle on home health care. Sure you can do it. Just look at it in small steps, talk to people and keep your steps in the right order. Your son should be pretty helpful in this endeavor.
Welcome. There's a lot of information here.
Robin97396 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2016, 05:57 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Thanks robin97396

I started with my client/friend 22 years ago. I was 18 and she was 9. We've lived together before and have basically been together everyday for the last 22 years lol. Most home health aids are probably not in a position to hit the road with a client. We have vacationed together for years too. I really want to do this. I would love to be able to help other people who are handicapped or have a handicapped family member get out and go. Thank you for your encouragement.
Old 04-07-2016, 06:13 PM   #4
Bus Geek

Considering the age of some of us here, we've got the bus already and probably should be looking for a nurse. Same idea but different driver.