Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-19-2017, 02:05 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: International
Engine: T444E 3800 7.3L
Short Bus to Food Truck Conversion

Hey everyone, this is my first post and I came across this site just today while doing more research on buses. I visited BGA School Buses in Hudson, FL yesterday and spent 7 1/2 hours hanging out with the owners (Greg Sr. & Jr.). They showed me around and I drove a couple of them but they ultimately need some rust work done which will set me back a couple of weeks from purchase date if I chose one. I enjoyed my time there and they're super nice but from what I can see on the site, they may be a bit higher than what I can get.

Here's a little history to help as well; I have been a Business Analyst for a little over a decade and just had a baby who turns 1 tomorrow. I'm burnt out of the corporate world and want to start up my own venture in the food truck area. I like what this guy did in this video where he used the wheelchair door as the service window which didn't require any cutting to fit a concession window

If all goes well with the business, I'd like to get another longer bus and turn it into a Skoolie, but that wouldn't be until next year at the earliest.

This is the first one I drove that's from Virginia: 1996 International Thomas Vista T444E Allison Automatic Hydraulic Brakes 6 row@ BGA School Buses, Inc. Hudson, FL
It has almost 300k miles and the radiator has green liquid all over it and needs some rust work done.

This is the second one I drove: 2007 IC BE200 VT365 Diesel Hydraulic Brakes 5 Row Used bus@ BGA School Buses, Inc. Hudson, FL
It had brake issues and he said he put $4,500 into it so that's why the price is higher. It doesn't fit my needs though so I scratched that idea, plus I'm trying to stay under 10k for the budget.