Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 01-23-2017, 05:21 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Skoolie Noobie

Hello to all. After months of watching youtube videos I decided to make my own skoolie. I will be doing all the work myself except the spray foam insulation. I would greatly appreciate any and all advice I can get from anyone. I am new to this and look forward to this next chapter in my life.

Just one man is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 07:41 PM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1984
Engine: 366 Big block Chevy! :) w/ Stick shift
How exciting! Please if you can video tape the spray foam process, would love to have reference for others (me too!) on that step
Carytowncat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2017, 08:32 PM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Hi I am doing lots of research my self hope this help ...

Spray foam insulation can help save up to 50% in energy costs, protect a building from moisture intrusion, and provide sound insulation. In addition, it provides two to three times more insulation that traditional fiberglass.

However, according to Environmental Working Group, most common spray polyurethane foam insulation contains methylene diphenyl diisocyanate, or MDI, a synthetic chemical linked to asthma, lung damage and even death.

“Because of the chemical’s risks, the federal Occupational Safety and Health Administration has set the maximum legal limit for MDI exposure among workers who handle it and related chemicals at 0.02 parts per million in workplace air,” reports EWG.

This is fine for professional installers, as they have the equipment necessary to protect them from MDI. But homeowners and DIY-ers may not even be aware of the danger.

spray foam insulationIn 2011, the EPA considered restricting or banning MDI’s use, but no action has been taken to date. Until that happens, here are some alternatives that are better for the environment and the people installing them: