Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-10-2019, 03:27 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Year: 1997
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466E Navistar
Rated Cap: 28,900
So the search is on......

Although I'm not a new member, this is my 1st post. I recently got the green light from my wife Heidi to find us a schoolie, or more accurately, a school bus to convert. I have been watching plenty of on going as well as completed conversions on Instagram and have been build our Schoolie in my head for roughly a year. We live in Southern NH, and I am just beginning to put some things together to raise the funds for the original bus. This will be a long term project that will get done in stages. The first stage will basically be the bus with a new floor down and some basics like a blow up mattress and some seating, along with the camping gear we already have. The end game is our home on wheels and checking out wherever we decide to go.
I took a look at a couple busses today just to wrap my head around what I need to pay attention to. I looked at at 04 FE Thomas, an 02 International standard style, and an 08 Freightliner C2 Safteyliner. That Freightliner was pretty much exactly what I want, just have to do some research on the drivetrain, which is Mercedes I believe. It was also my first time being able to really get a good look around a flat nose bus. I took some measurements for furniture spacing and fitting a bed, as well as just eyeballing the layout I have in my head on a real floor. It did still have seats in it but I got the general idea.