Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-03-2018, 07:49 PM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

The wait is over!

Still cant believe I am writing my introduction on skoolie.net telling everyone that I am the proud new over of a 1996 Thomas RE. 3 years ago I joined this site and scrolled through the forums, drooling over the builds thinking it would be nice. Well last week I bit the bullet, bid on a bus on a whim with some encouragement from my fiancé to "just go for it" and we won. I anticipate doing a build thread with tons of photos, because everyone loves the photos so don't worry.

I am a trained diesel mechanic so everything under the bus doesn't worry me. but I have TONS of questions about the interior build.

the number one question I have, that I have yet to see in any thread, and ill start with this is:

What type of hardware is used to secure the wooden frames to the "skin" of the bus? For example, rip out the old insulation in the walls and ceiling, add better insulation and reinstall wooden walls and ceiling, what type of fastener (i.e. screw, self taping screw, glue, Velcro (lol)) is then used to hold the wood to the ribs of the ceiling/walls?

Literally the only thing (as of right now) that keeps me up at night when dreaming of my build.

DMCGARIGAL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-03-2018, 07:52 PM   #2
Mini-Skoolie

oh one other thing, I'm out of southern California, Orange county area, does anyone know of any skoolie community in the area where people meet to work on their buses together here?
Old 12-03-2018, 08:00 PM   #3
Bus Crazy

Year: 1996
Coachwork: Amtran
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466
Rated Cap: 65
Quote:
Originally Posted by DMCGARIGAL View Post
the number one question I have, that I have yet to see in any thread, and ill start with this is: