Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-24-2018, 09:14 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Talking Total Newbie to buses.

Hello! I am new to this whole bus thing. I have been interested in tiny houses for many years now but the whole idea of turning a bus into a house sounds like a much more all in one package that doesn't require a massive pickup truck to tow. I have no idea where to start, I don't have a bus, but I do like to make things. All I know is that I have access to just about any tool imaginable, I have experience in aircraft body work (which may be useful if I raise the roof of the bus???), and I can build anything.

Any recommendations on where to start and where to buy a bus would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

~Camden

GoobTheGreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 09:34 AM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 1946
Coachwork: Chevrolet/Wayne
Chassis: 1- 1/2 ton
Engine: Cummins 4BT
Rated Cap: 15
Howdy Camden...and welcome! --- I would suggest you complete the info in your profile so we know where you are located. Will make a big difference regarding suggestions and help.
Tango is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 09:52 AM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 2004
Chassis: International
Engine: T444e w/ 2000 Allison Trans
Rated Cap: 35
Welcome Camden,

You are definitely in the right place to learn about skoolie builds. I personally purchased my bus on a government auction site. the 2 most popular are https://www.govdeals.com/ and https://www.publicsurplus.com/ . Like Tango said fill out where you are from and we can suggest local places.

Follow our build on Instagram at https://www.instagram.com/skoolie_doo/
Rovobay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2018, 11:00 AM   #4
Bus Geek

Year: 1999
Coachwork: Genesis
Engine: DT466/3060
Rated Cap: 77