Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 03-22-2019, 06:50 PM   #1

Red face Very New Here, Anxious

Hello everybody, I just found this forum the other day after starting research onto living in a bus. I remember years ago when I dabbled in alternative living spaces I had come across buses but never gave them much mind. Now I live a very different life, and the thought is very temping, but very nerve racking.

My name is Seth, I'm a soldier in the US Army currently serving in Maryland. While the Army provides me with more than adequate living arrangements one day my time will come and I'll leave. When that time comes I don't know where I'll end up, or where I'll make my forever home. Somehow as if the wires just happened to cross right I noticed a bus on craigslist and the idea hit me. What if I just MOVE the house till I know where I want to settle down. The idea makes me feel like a madman, living in a bus makes me seem like some kind of crazy veteran, but the logic is there and I don't see any major flaws. Just successful happy people. I've since put my nose to the grindstone lurking the back pages of this forum trying to figure out how to do it, how each detail of the buses are planned and executed. I still see no reason why this WOULDN'T be a good idea for me... so maybe then it is a good idea?

If I did my bus it would certainly be different than most of your guy's off grid campers. Mine would be more sort of an ongrid house that happens to roll by it's own power? I work in the MI corp now, but my intent is to finish my degree in mechanical engineering and become a machinist. My intent would be to sacrifice the main bedroom of the bus to instead have room for a mill, and a lathe, running on a separate 220v shore power system, and instead sleep on the folding couches all of you seem so fond of. Or some other type of creative folding bed solution.