Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-26-2018, 10:35 PM   #1

Wild wild west conversion long-term plans

Howdy all,

I've been dreaming of a bus for several years now, and it's getting time to act on that. I've been lurking here for around a year soaking up knowledge, and a recent windfall makes it possible to turn that into action soon. So now I need to start asking questions.

I'll post details about where that project is at in more specific forums; here I'll gush a few details about what I'm planning to build and who I am.
That way if you're interested we can talk, and I can keep my other posts more to the point.

Me:
I live in Seattle, and we just bought a modest place with a city-owned empty lot across the street that our seller had laid gravel down on to park his bus (that he took with him). I'm handy enough when tracking down and fixing issues with several gas-cars over the years (worst puzzle: a faulty solid-state 'points' module on a Range Rover engine prevented real ignition due to too-short dwell; deepest fix: fresh clutch plate for an Alfa Romeo; plus - several years of keeping a Beetle 'alive forever'), and I'm a pretty good general handyman, but I have no real experience with diesels or heavy components. I can make simple welds. I work in tech, so I can stick with a problem till I reach the bottom, and I have just enough budget to do things right when I need to.

The bus: