Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-18-2019, 12:44 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1998
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: DT466E
Rated Cap: 66 passenger 30K GVRW
You people are insane...

You people are ... insanely informative and helpful!

I've been reading the forum for a while, picking up tidbits, here n' there. Such a wealth of information in so many threads -- I have a little book of notes I've taken -- every time I find something of value, I dump in in there, and then reread the other notes. Great stuff!

So who the H*LL am I? I'm Dave aka Ghan (pronounced "GAN") -- I'm computer guy by trade, a fixer, a builder, a creator... I'm not artsy, but I'm very handy.

I ride motorcycles (~10k mi a year) and do offroad w/ 4WD trucks. I've built Jeeps, Toyotas, Samurai, Rovers -- I currently have a 2005 Land Rover LR3 I lovingly refer to as 'the woods beater' ... I recently picked up a 2019 Honda Pioneer 1000-5 to try this mode of offroad transportation / exploration. I'm looking forward to traveling from Northeastern CT up to NH / Maine / VT for some trail riding, perhaps down to TN/NC/Alabama as well... This brings me to your fine little corner of the web.

I'm toying around with building a toy hauler / camper out of a big-as-I-can-find bus. I'd like to do a camouflaged rear door that would drop down as the back of the bus, to be able to put the Honda into the back of the bus, enclosed style. Width will not be a problem (63" wide) but height sure will be. 6'7" is how tall this Honda is. So, looking like a roof raise, even if I found one of the 'tall ceiling' ones, as that'll still be at the center, I've assumed!

With that said, a 10-11' area in the back of the bus for the Honda, and living quarters up front. Wife's not keen on a composting toilet in the slightest, so I may end up going full plumbing/shower/kitchen.