Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-07-2019, 12:36 PM   #1

Smile Advice needed on first bus purchase

Hey guys,

Brand new user here, so apologies if this isn't the right thread to be asking this. I have my eye on a converted short bus on Craigslist and was wondering if anyone could give me advice as to a fair price or if this is something I should avoid altogether. Also if anyone could suggest important questions to ask the owner that may be helpful for this specific model:

--1998 Chevy 3500
--225,000 miles
--diesel, automatic, 8 cylinder, rwd
--Used by a school district up until 2017 and owner has all maintencene records since when it was new
Nicely converted

I've read a couple other threads on here that had mixed reviews for 6.5L 3500 engines, but being the complete novice that I am, I wasn't sure if this engine differs in quality based off of other factors such as year. The main concern that I gathered was overheating, which I think may not be too much of an issue for me as I will be driving it minimally in a flat area with mild weather. Any input would be greatly appreciated. Thanks for reading!

jesserjoe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-07-2019, 01:01 PM   #2
Bus Geek

Year: 2002
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: All American RE (A3RE)
Engine: Cummins ISC (8.3)
Rated Cap: 72
Someone asked about the 6.5 the other day and Josh described the engine perfectly... "Boring"

They are low powered, economical and reliable.

IIRC: there were a couple of years that had some injection pump issues that are somewhat easy to resolve by upgrading to a later model pump. I bet Cowlitz or Christopher can tell you more about that.

Have you ever worked on a v8 powered van? I have owned a couple and after the last one I decided "never again". I just don't like working on them and neither does my favorite mechanic.