Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 08-18-2009, 08:50 PM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1988
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: Chevrolet
Engine: 8.2L Detroit Diesel
Rated Cap: 54
Getting official training to drive a bus.

I've been driving "Buscephus" now for over two years with no accidents. I just got behind the wheel on the day I bought her and drove, learning as I went. I am now in training to become a professional school bus driver with my class B CDL, passenger, school bus, and air brake endorsements included. It's quite exciting driving different buses and getting to experience how they handle. I just wish school bus drivers were paid more. Now I wonder, are there any other school bus drivers among us? Possibly retired school bus drivers?

-Adam

arfisher83 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 06:54 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: 7.3 diesel
Rated Cap: 14
Re: Getting official training to drive a bus.

yep,
Although I don't do actual school routes. I do weekend runs only right now with an occasional weeknight if it is a late enough start. essentially the guy that keeps the weekday guys from going into overtime.
wmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2009, 08:28 PM   #3
Bus Nut

Year: 1992
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford B700
Engine: 5.9L Cummins
Rated Cap: 65