Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 09-03-2017, 01:10 AM   #1
Almost There

Year: 1999
Chassis: MVP RE
Engine: 5.9 Cummins
How Long can I idle

I have a1999 Cummins 5.9 Thomas bus. I want to camp out in it one night and run the on board a/c. Will it hurt to run the engine all night? it has a high idle switch also.

budbud7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 01:21 AM   #2
Bus Crazy

Year: 2001
Coachwork: Blue Bird
Chassis: IH
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: 14
I drive big trucks for a living and generally leave mine idle all the time. Of course I'm not running the 5.9 engine either. I remember reading something about using the high idle to avoid excessive low combustion chamber temps (I forget the details of it now), it's particularly relevant in winter temps. On a regular basis it will increase wear and tear on the engine and such, but for one night every so often it should be fine.

You'll want audible warnings and shut-downs enabled. You won't want a ruined engine if you snap a belt in the wee hours and the engine overheats, you'll want it to shut down instead.
Brad_SwiftFur is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2017, 02:50 AM   #3
Bus Crazy

Idling a bus, even on fast idle to run the A/C system, is not a very good idea.

It will tend to not get the engine warm enough which will tend to create a lot of moisture that will condense inside the crankcase and exhaust system which will cause premature wear and failure.