Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-18-2016, 08:49 AM   #1
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 2,059
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
I don't have room for mini splits.

For those who think they don't have room for mini split AC this is a 1950 Flxible Clipper, it's only 34 feet long. It has two mini splits one in each end.



There wasn't much to take pictures of, it's pretty well enclosed, there are four pages of pictures of her build and there are a few of how the AC is mounted.

Trackmaster Fabricators - Ruthie

They live in Texas and put 30,000 miles on it last year, don't have a towed.

Dick
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2016, 08:52 AM   #2
Bus Geek
 
EastCoastCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Eustis FLORIDA
Posts: 18,719
Year: 1999
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Freighliner FS65
Engine: Cat 3126
Rated Cap: 15
Excellent, thanks for the link!
__________________
.
Roll Your Own Build Thread
EastCoastCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2016, 01:02 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 4
That bus is awesome!
mnvillela is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2016, 07:01 PM   #4
Almost There
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Mount Victory, OH
Posts: 85
I love the Clippers. I know of a 49 Flxible Clipper near me and a Visacoach. The guy wants a lot for them and need a lot of work. Thanks for the link!
superduty_59 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 12:14 PM   #5
Almost There
 
CaptainHooligan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: WNC
Posts: 96
I want mini splits if I can run 2 off a 30 AMP breaker, or a 3000 watt generator.
CaptainHooligan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 12:44 PM   #6
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 2,059
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
I run mine on 30A all the time.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 02:12 PM   #7
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,946
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
I rarely see my mini's go over 10-12 amps (at home)... they do use a little more heating than cooling.. but even in heat mode they never go over 13 amps.. since they are soft-start they are generator friendly/
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 03:36 PM   #8
Bus Nut
 
Jolly Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: North carolina
Posts: 651
Year: 1986
Coachwork: Thomas
Chassis: Ford
Engine: Detroit 8.2
Rated Cap: 60 bodies
Is that a 120v mini heat pump or a split with a heat strip?
I have been told that they don't make them 120 with heat?
If so some manufacturers please!
Jolly Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:02 PM   #9
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,946
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the ones in my house are from 2008.. inverter heat-pumps.. theres no strip heat.. i took my mini splits and tore them into pieces and built them completely custom into my zoned / modulated HVAC system and retained the ability to use my 95% effcient gas heat for backup and full-on winter heat.. (no this isnt in a bus.. this is my regular house)

Ive seen very few mini's with strip heat and none that run on 120 volts with strip..

www.acwholesalers.com

sells a bunch of different brands of minisplits... i got mine from there originally years ago... i had issues with them so they sent me a whole new set of 3, then ai figured out how to fix the originals so 2 of my replacements have been sitting in their cartons for 7 years...



mine were Grunaire units... chinese made like most of them are.. theres only a cpouple different chnese companies making them but they are sold under a ton of different names online...

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:12 PM   #10
Bus Nut
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Kansas
Posts: 492
Year: 2000
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444E
Rated Cap: Your mom +1
115v with heat

GREE High Efficiency 9,000 BTU 3/4 Ton Ductless Mini Split Air Conditioner with Heat, Inverter and Remote - 115V/60Hz-RIO09HP115V1A - The Home Depot
slaughridge85 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:13 PM   #11
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,946
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
yes with a HEAT PUMP but not strip heat as asked about above
-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:13 PM   #12
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 2,059
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
Mine are heat pumps, I still get some heat down to about 34į. Amps are about what Cadillac said. If it's not real hot out they run about 7A.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2016, 04:17 PM   #13
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,946
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the one in my house will blow warm air all the way down to about 8 degrees... they go to defrost alot there and ots not real hot air..

the efficiency and C.O.P. drops off significantly below 37 degrees outside... I have the graphs and number charts on mine somewhere.. (the chinese sent me the full factory service manuals for them in english)..

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 06:27 PM   #14
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
I am having trouble finding dual zone units in 120volt. Do y'all that have two interior heads run 2 outside units or is someone who makes what I need.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
zebworley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 06:31 PM   #15
New Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by somewhereinusa View Post
I run mine on 30A all the time.


Do you have 2 outside units or one outside that runs two inside. Can't find a dual zone in 120volt. And can I see picture of how everything is mounted. I have an 03 Bluebird FE


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
zebworley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 10:43 PM   #16
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 2,059
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
I have 2 rear is where original condenser was. Front is between frame rails in front.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 10:41 PM   #17
Skoolie
 
RC000E's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Posts: 155
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Ford
Chassis: E350 #Vanlife
Engine: 6.8 V10
Rated Cap: 15
Do you have any pics of where and how your minis are mounted?
RC000E is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2017, 11:02 PM   #18
Bus Nut
 
warewolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: NY
Posts: 468
Year: 2000
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: T444E
somewhereinusa, eastcoastcb put me onto your thread. Do you see any problem with mounting a mini split up high? For example skinning over my rear windows and mounting it there instead of right above the bumper. I ordered a 12k btu unit in the mail that I'm attempting to run fully off grid (we'll see) but I still haven't decided where to mount it.
__________________
Roads? Where we're going, we don't need ... roads.
warewolff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:39 AM   #19
Bus Crazy
 
somewhereinusa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Andrews,Indiana
Posts: 2,059
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: AARE
Engine: 3116 Cat 250hp
Rated Cap: Just the two of us.
Mounting of rear can be seen here.

http://www.skoolie.net/forums/f11/so...a-6318-25.html

Front is between frame rails right behind front bumper.







warewolff
I don't see a problem, I think that inside unit must be above outside unit. Perhaps cadillackid can answer better than me.
somewhereinusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2017, 07:57 AM   #20
Bus Geek
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Columbus Ohio
Posts: 11,946
Year: 1991
Coachwork: Carpenter
Chassis: International 3800
Engine: DTA360 / MT643
Rated Cap: 7 Row Handicap
the inside unit can be above or below the outside.. if you want to locate the inside unit Below the outside unit, you need to put a "trap" in your refrigerant Suction Line to trap the oil. it is simply a bend similar to what you see under the sink in your house.. you dont need it if the evaporator is level or above the outdoor unit.

remember though that the thermostat assumes the indoor unit is above your head inside.. so say you set it at 72.. it "assumes" that the temperature at the unit needs to drop a couple degrees further to compensate.. (ie so the air at 48" off the floor) is at the setpoint...

keep that in mind if you mount your indoor unit down low or do an under-floor ducted unit.

-Christopher
cadillackid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×