Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 02-15-2006, 02:13 AM   #1
Mini-Skoolie

Introduction

I'm posting to intrduce myself.

I am from Texas, but I currently live in the UK for the next year. We are returning to the states at the end of the year. Next summer, I am planning on getting a schoolie to convert into a weekend travel-mobile. Our needs are for something that we can eat, sleep, rest it, carry our gear, and use as a mobile base camp.

I plan to look for an International Loadstar of about a 55 passenger size. I don't want the long overhang past the rear wheels, and I prefer International.
I've looked at just about everyone's personal webpage here for ideas.

My background is several years driving 18 wheelers over the road, and in industrial cranes, so I know what works and doesn't in a heavy duty environment, and I plan on using this knowledge, and what I learn from here, in the design of our bus.

Slowpoke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2006, 09:40 AM   #2
Bus Nut

Year: 1993
Coachwork: AmTran
Chassis: IHC
Engine: Dt360
Rated Cap: 19
Welcome!
Old 02-18-2006, 03:03 AM   #3
Mini-Skoolie

Thanks.
I was checking out your pics. The wood interior looks pretty good. I may add that to my design ideas. I plan on keeping the coach 12v as much as possible for the electrics, except for the roof a/c(s) and a microwave that will run off an invertor. I'll use an ac/dc television and the same design of a mirror mount tv antanae that I used over the road. I use a cb antane, mount, and just buy a cable to hook it up to a tv. The reception is great, and it's cheap. Batteries will be (2) standard Deka truck deep cycles for the "hotel" side.
Old 02-19-2006, 09:04 AM   #4
Bus Nut

Year: 1981
Coachwork: Crown
Chassis: Crown
Engine: 671 DD
Send a message via MSN to Roasting8 Send a message via Yahoo to Roasting8
Hi Slowpoke,