Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 12-18-2017, 01:46 PM   #1

Newbie needs help please!

Hi everyone,

I've been a lurker and I'm new to the skoolie lifestyle, but it's something I've fantasized about and researched for years now...

I finally have enough money to purchase one, but I have no absolutely no handy skills whatsoever.

So I hit craigslist, and found a beautiful mostly converted Bluebird that used to be a mobile blood bank.

Anyways, I need some advice before I buy it because I'm having serious doubts about going to check it out. (As in buying a plane ticket and going out of state to the middle of nowhere to meet total strangers)

Potential red flags:

1. I've only seen the photos on craigslist and after a few days, the listing expired. This was a few weeks ago, but I just texted the owner again and he says he hasn't sold it yet.

2. I've only texted the owner. We have not spoken on the phone.

3. The owner says the title is not in his name?! How can he sell it then?!!! I asked him who the registered owner was and he said he hadn't registered the title in his name yet, and he just bought it. (Which brings up more questions, like why sell it, how long ago did you buy it, etc, etc.)

4. He says all we would have to do would be go to the DMV to get it transferred over (but again, if he doesn't hold the title, how can he even sell it to me?!)

5. He says he doesn't have the money for the taxes on it. Am I missing something here? Are there monthly taxes on a skoolie?! Maybe different states have taxes? I'm not understanding this statement.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. I was really interested in this bus, and initially it looked like the owner was interested in my offer too but now I'm wondering if this is some sort of scam.

Sorry for the novel. Any help would be appreciated. As a single woman, you never can be too careful.