Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-10-2008, 07:24 PM   #1
Bus Nut
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Savage, MN
Posts: 472
Year: 1992
Coachwork: Bluebird
Chassis: International
Engine: 7.3 diesel
Rated Cap: 14
Re: No power

It has been around 10 years since we had a storm take down trees in the yard. That time it happened you couldn't find a store with ice. We had no power for only 3 days. I ended up being a good time to clean the refrigerator out. I did move a lot of the stuff to the chest freezer right next to the refrigerator and over that 3 day period I ended up freezing the milk in there with no power. I guess there is a benefit of never thawing the thing out and keeping it full.

No things would be different since I have a couple generators now and one being a Honda 2000 so I would be very good off until some john doe sees it running and decides to cut the lock of the thing and take it for them selves.
wmah is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:11 AM   #2
Bus Geek
lapeer20m's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: near flint michigan
Posts: 2,653
Re: No power

our power was out at my house the other day too. I used the inverter on the bus to run the referigerator for a few hours before i decided i better dig out the geni and start her up. I have a cheap home depot 6kw geni i bought years ago for my first bus. She's noisy, and consumes 1/2 gallon/hr, but she'll run the entire house, except for the a/c unit. 6kw is more than 50 amps, i don't understand why i can't get the compressor on the a/c unit to fire up...oh well.

i had a honda eu2k, but i sold it this past winter when i wasn't working...i really needed the money. sold it for almost as much as i paid for it originally.
Quis custodiet ipsos custodes (who will watch the watchmen?)
lapeer20m is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2008, 03:39 PM   #3
Bus Nut
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: downriver, detroit mi
Posts: 794
Re: No power

when I was doing standby power we alwas sized generators at 3 times the max running load of the largest motor to be started and then added all the other running loads.
paul iossi is offline   Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DC or AC power? Locutus Conversion General Discussions 3 07-31-2010 07:44 PM
re: more power themissingparts Mechanical and Drivetrains 7 06-07-2010 06:08 PM
S1600 more power silentbob Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 0 06-18-2009 09:27 PM
Power. I want more power! crazycal Conversion General Discussions 20 03-05-2007 05:23 PM
ATX PC Power Supply to a 12 Volt Power Source vonslatt Everything Else | General Skoolie Discussions 3 02-15-2006 06:57 PM

» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:57 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.